This post states and capitals list is an introduction to knowing India. where is India located? Giving details about its area, population, capital, states and union territories? This is just revising the topics we have already studied.

After introspecting about my passion to myself, I learnt my passion is to earn lot of money , travel to temples and sight seeing places, and buy things which are unique and attract people’s attention when displayed. I know it can only be a dream because my health will not permit. So I thought of writing about India, the states and union territories. I wanted to learn about the places and also feel for myself my presence in that place. No doubt we have learnt some things in Geography but it is just a very small portion. Now through my posts I will be discovering what I have not known about India. There may be some things you would like to share because you had the opportunity to visit or stay. I would welcome your ideas through my email or comment below.

How I started this writing about states and capitals list?

First of all, When I started States and capitals list my mind asked me this question. Why? Who does not know? Also, I agree we all know many things but we forget also so many . So to refresh our memory is not bad. Furthermore is it not an exercise for our brain? Thus, when we brush up, the dust which had piled up on this knowledge is gone and we remember everything . Finally, I call my blog information for this reason. I can give information about topics I know, I want to know and share. So let me share this with you. Now all of you know about India, its location on map, its area population etc . But reviewing it for a change does not matter isn’t it? we will also be revising about states and capitals list .

Details about india

where is India located? Give details about its area, population, capital, states and union territories?

First of all India is located in South Asia.

Now, Its Area is 32,87,263 sq km.

Also, Population is 133.92 crores (2017) world bank

The Capital is Delhi

Its States are 29

Also, Union territories are 7

Secondly, India secular federal republic governed in a Parliamentary system of democracy.

Now, India is the second most populated country in the world with one fifth of world population. Also,it is the seventh largest country by area

Also, India occupies 2.41% of world’s land and 17.5% of world’s population. 72.2% of the population reside in rural areas. Hence India lives in villages. One out of every six people in this planet live in India.

Further, each state and Union territory has its own capital i.e. administrative, judicial and legislative.

Most noteworthy, Administrative capital means all offices of executive government are located here. Also,Legislative capital is the place where the state assembly convenes. Further, Judicial capital is where territorial high courts are located.

Thus all states and two union territories Puducherry and National capital Delhi has elected forms of government and legislature. So,they headed by Chief Minister who elected for five years and other Union Territories directly ruled by central government. Even,under the State reorganization act of 1956 States reorganized on the basis of language. However, Official language is Hindi

Lets see the29 states and capitals and the language spoken . Please see below list of states and capitals in alphabetical order.

State capitals Language
Andhra Pradesh Hyderabad (Dejure 2.6.2026) Amravati (proposed) Telugu & Urdu
Arunachal Pradesh Itanagar Miji, Apotanji, Merdukpen, Tagin, Adi, Honpa, Bangini-Nishi
Assam Dispur Assamese
Bihar Patna Hindi
Chhattisgarh Raipur Hindi
Goa Panaji Marathi & Konkani
Gujrat Gandhi Nagar Gujrati
Haryana Chandigarh Hindi
Himachal Pradesh Shimla Hindi & Pahari
Jammu & Kashmir Srinagar (Summer) Jammu (winter) Kashmiri, Urdu, Dogri, Ladakhi, Pahari, Punjabi & Dadri
Jharkhand Ranchi Hindi
Karnataka Bangalore Kannada
Kerala Thiruvananthapuram Malayalam
Madhya Pradesh Bhopal Hindi
Maharashtra Mumbai Marathi
Manipur Imphal Manipuri
Meghalaya Shillong Khasi, Jaintia, Garo
Mizoram Aizawl Mizo & English
Nagaland Kohima Ao, Konyak, Angami, Sema & Lotha
Orissa Bhubaneshwar Oriya
Punjab Chandigarh Punjabi
Rajasthan Jaipur Rajasthani & Hindi
Sikkim Gangtok Bhutia, Hindi, Nepali, Lepcha, Limbu
Tamil Nadu Chennai Tamil
Telangana Hyderabad Telugu
Tripura Agartala Bengali, Tripuri, Manipuri, kakborak
Uttar Pradesh Lucknow Hindi
Uttarakhand Dehradun Hindi
West Bengal Kolkata Bengali

List of Union territories and Capitals

Union Territories Capitals
Andaman & Nicobar Port Blair
Chandigarh Chandigarh
Dadra & Nagarhaveli Silvassa
Daman & Diu Daman
Delhi Delhi
Lakshadweep Kavaratti
Puducherry Pondicherry

Finally, after having read this state and capital list you will be wondering what next? What do you think ?Have you any additional information you can email me on

outbound links


states and capital list

Inbound link

Names of Prime Minister

I would like to say “Thank you” for reading this article.

If you have any questions please let me know through your comments.

.ideasforsure may earn an affiliate commission, if you purchase something through recommended links in this article..


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.